Life in the City – the 24-Hour Fruit Stand

The 24 hour fruit stand outside my apartment has different proprietors over the course of the day and night. I really like the one during the day. He knows my routine as I whiz by in the morning, grabbing a banana and handing him 25 cents. Sometimes I buy on credit if I don’t have change.

The guy at night is creepy and pushy in an annoying way. Tonight, I picked out two bananas and handed him a dollar bill in the hope that he would give me 50 cents and let me continue to my home.

“Just two bananas?” he said.

“Yes,” I said. “As you can see, two bananas.”

He made a move for a bag of baby carrots in an attempt to upsell.

I put the bananas down, grabbed the one dollar bill out of his hand and left. I don’t need that constant pressure from my fruit guy!

Life in the city.

2 comments

  1. This reminds me of the GAP: Would you like socks to go with those jeans? McDonald’s: Fries to go with that burger? Last but not least, Toys R Us: What about some batteries?

  2. I have the same thing with my fruit guy. Always the upsell, an ineffective one, mind you, as they shove some rotten avocados or cherries in my face. Love the NY fruit stands, though, as long as you consume it day of…

Leave a Reply

