The Reverend Peter J. Gomes

I learned today of the passing of the Reverend Peter J. Gomes at the age of 68.

I sang in the University Choir and consider Peter Gomes to be a major part of my Harvard experience.  Before I started my freshman year, my brother told me that one thing I must do while there is attend a sermon by the Reverend Gomes.  Well, I had the pleasure of hearing his sermons every Sunday and of getting to know him personally through seminars, personal meetings and his afternoon gatherings to enjoy sherry, conversation and companionship.

I last saw him when he spoke about his newest book a few years ago.  Around that time he also appeared on The Colbert Report and, as you might expect, held his own quite well!  I am deeply, deeply saddened.  I can hear his voice booming in my head (“Karen, it’s so gooood to see you.”) and will never forget it or him.

2 comments

  1. Karen’s commentary on this beautiful man is beautiful unto itself.
    Speaking of Digital Musings, Peter’s homilies are available through iTunes at The Memorial Church. His homilies define inspiration and consolation.
    Peter rests in peace. I am certain he hopes we live in peace.
    Thank you, Karen.

Leave a Reply

